Featuring Joy & Geoff, Big Brother , Little Brother , Sis , and various household (and outdoor) critters...

Thursday, 29 January 2009

New Year, New Adventures!

Well, it seems my thesis-free time - it has, after all, been over a month - has been long enough to give me an itch to be learning and doing something new. I have actually been mulling over my post-thesis life for a long time, thinking I would maybe take french classes, or photography. Something challenging and stimulating, but fairly low-pressure. Since having Hesperantha, I've also toyed with the idea of getting into some obedience work with her. Just before finishing my thesis I jumped the gun just a bit and joined a book club started by a friend. So I have that once a month, which is lovely. And then, right around Christmas, the church bulletin announced 5 weeks of swing/salsa dance lessons. I think that Geoff has always been fearful that someday I might actually try to get him to take dance lessons with me...I've joked about it a bit, and so when this announcement came out, he realized all on his own that he had no choice in the matter, and that we would be going dancing! And better yet - he likes it! But the problem is, a couple of swing and salsa lessons aren't enough to get really comfortable with it, so we're planning to sign up for an introductory dance class at the university rec centre in town. It starts next week, and we can take other classes after this one if we want to. The dance is a great thing - we get to go out together, and it's wonderful exercise (which we lack, sadly). And, in addition to dance, there's a nearby dog trainer whose level 1 obedience classes start next week, and we're going to try to register for those. So, I think we'll have enough on our plates, because we are also beginning nursery & spare bedroom renovations (floors and trim, mainly) this week, and have a few more skating sessions with the Burmese youth from our church. I wondered aloud, earlier this evening, if we're trying to fit in as much as we can pre-kids, knowing that there won't be quite the same luxury to take classes and so on with little ones (which is ok). We're also planning to get tickets to see Diana Krall in the spring, and "Stars on Ice" in May (yay)!

1 comment:

Matt & Leah said...

Hi Joy,
I just came across your blog. My husband and I are also adopting from Ghana through Imagine. I'm assuming that you guys are requesting twins (based on your ticker)? What is your age and/or gender request? We're requesting a child under the age of 12 months. We are really nervous since it's a new program but we're trying to stay positive!
I'd love to keep in touch with you since we're not too far behind you guys in the process!
Take care,
Leah